I just don’t want to.

guo

Nope.

Nope.

Not going to do it.

I’ll do it later.

That was me this morning. 5 am alarm going off. I’m still tired because I didn’t go to sleep until almost midnight. That tends to happen when my husband isn’t home. I get restless. Insomnia is my pal on those nights. Well insomnia and my dog Fanci. She is always right there with me when he isn’t home. My husband is in the Navy and yesterday was his duty day. He had to stay onboard the ship with the duty section so that everyone else could go home to their families. For those military wives out there, you know what I am talking about.

Well when I can’t sleep, naturally I don’t want to get up at my normal time in the morning. Nope. Don’t want to do it. AT ALL. I went back to sleep for 10 minutes. By then my dog wanted to go outside so she was nudging my face and shaking so the tags on her collar jingled together. Fanci, just 5 more minutes PLEASE. I turn on the television for background noise because I do intend to get up to workout but I just need a few more minutes with my eyes closed. Then I think to myself, if I go back to sleep and just get up at 6 I can feel more rested and I can just do my workout this evening. I hear Montel Willaims’ voice on the tv, then another very distinct voice. One I’ve heard every morning for the past couple of weeks. Telling me to keep it up, push through it, “you can do anything for 60 seconds”, Autumn Calabrese. My eyes flutter open and on the tv is the infomercial for 21 Day Fix. Fitting since that is the workout I am trying NOT to do right now, sleep sounds a lot better. I look at the clock and it is 5:18, sigh, get up Kaneka. Get up. Ok, Ok, Ok. I’m up.

This morning was a struggle. We all have those times when we just do not want to do it, do not want to work out, do not want to get up. I understand. It is a battle that I have often. Far too often if I am honest. Today I won that battle. I am victorious and I live to fight another day!

I got up, I did my Upper Fix, I made my breakfast, I started dinner (in the crockpot), I packed my lunch, I got showered and dressed and I headed out to work. I did it. It wasn’t easy or simple or even logical. But my workout for the day is done. I didn’t give in today. I didn’t allow myself to talk me out of doing what I have dedicated to do, for me. I need this. I needed that pep talk. I needed to be able to overcome my own “limitations”. And I did.

There is a different message on the chalkboard behind them for every workout. Today’s was “It doesn’t get easier, you get stronger”. I felt that and it empowered me to give it my all during my workout today. I am so glad that I got up and got it done.

It doesn't get easier You just get better

Do you have a story about how you got over a hump in your routine? Had to fight yourself to get your workout done? Didn’t succeed in that fight? I want to hear your story. I want to encourage you in your journey. Please share below.

Have a TERRIFIC TUESDAY lovelies!!

~~Kaneka~~

3 thoughts on “I just don’t want to.

  1. This was my morning exactly, and I did end up sleeping in but brought my gym stuff to go right after work. I slept in too much yesterday and didn’t get to sleep until past midnight. Good job for getting up! I will remember this if I try and bail in the morning again.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So glad to be a help in times like that. I really struggled this morning. I even got to work later than I like to (which is still well before most people but I like my routine). I’ll focus on resting well tonight so that I don’t have the same issue tomorrow! I’m rooting for your workout later!

    Like

  3. Those mornings are so hard, but GREAT job doing it!! Sometimes it takes those little signs to get us going and motivated. You should be proud 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

